Susanne Celik on her disqualification in Surprise

Celik on her punishment in Surprise: “I’m very sad.”
From an interview by Johanna Jonsson on Swedish site Tennis.se.
No, it wasn’t an outburst of rage.  A disappointed Susanne Celik tells us what happened when she was disqualified—after a framed shot. “They said that the ball hit a line judge on the next court,” says the 20 year old.

Susanne Celik’s match against Cici Bellis at the ITF tournament in Surprise, Arizona ended bizarrely.

A few games into the third set, the Swedish #3 was disqualified because she hit a ball that hit a line judge.

This is how Celik explains the event: “I just wanted to hit the balls over to her after the 2-1 game and I framed one of the balls at the same time as I turned around to pick up my towel.  I had no idea what was going on.  Then they said the ball hit a line judge on the next court where they were playing doubles.”

“It was pure bad luck—everyone who knows me knows it.”

On social media, there were rumours that Celik had hit the ball at a line judge out of sheer frustration.

“Even if I tried, I wouldn’t be able to hit a line judge on the other court just like that.  It was a mishap and those who know me know it.  I would never take out my anger at a line judge.  Good God.”

“The ball bounced and then went up to him.  He didn’t even get hurt,” says Celik.

How are you doing?

“It’s not great—that’s what I can say.  An entirely wrong story has come out about me, that I hit a ball towards an umpire, which is just sick.  It’s just sad and I’m very sad about this, too, obviously.”

Her opponent, Cici Bellis, celebrated: “The most unsportsmanlike thing I’ve seen.”

The umpire called in the tournament referee who immediately disqualified the Swede.

“After the supervisor came in, he took about 20 seconds to decide, without listening to my side, and said ‘The match is over; I’m not going to discuss it.'”

Her opponent’s reaction shocked Celik.

“Bellis screamed in joy with both hands up to the sky—some of the most unsportsmanlike conduct I’ve seen in my entire life.”

“Bellis herself fired a ball without any bouncing that hit a line judge on our court just 5 games earlier, and she only got a warning.  It’s just incredibly unfair.  I don’t understand anything.”

~

Translation by Renestance.   Feedback and criticism are welcome; please let us know what you think in the comments.

If you would like to contribute a translation, please head to About Us to see how to do so.
~
Note:  Another piece, this time by Stefan Holm, suggests that Celik sought a new meeting with the tournament supervisor to discuss the incident.  “I’ve spoken with the office in London and they say it’s odd that she (Bellis) wasn’t disqualified before I was punished.  It will be interesting to hear what she hast to say.”  Thanks to Christopher Levy for the alert.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s